Free delivery from 75,- €* order value within Germany
lovingly, personally packed
Service Hotline +49 (0) 176 - 345 019 06 (Mo - Thu 9 am - 5 pm, Fr 9 am - 12 am)

Basics for crafting

 

For every hobby you need basic materials. It is the same with crafting, of course. In our Basics you will find everything around this topic. Primers, everything around gluing, pastes with different effects and for stenciling as well as brushes, waxes and blanks which you can design according to your wishes.

 

  For every hobby you need basic materials. It is the same with crafting, of course. In our Basics you will find everything around this topic. Primers, everything around gluing, pastes... read more »
Close window
Basics for crafting

 

For every hobby you need basic materials. It is the same with crafting, of course. In our Basics you will find everything around this topic. Primers, everything around gluing, pastes with different effects and for stenciling as well as brushes, waxes and blanks which you can design according to your wishes.

 

Close filters
 
1 13
No results were found for the filter!
Scrapiniec - Explosion Box white
Scrapiniec - Explosion Box
Content 1 Pieces
€1.50 *
brown
€1.50 *
white
€1.50 *

Currently out of stock

Aleene's Always Ready Original - Tacky Glue 118 ml (4oz)
Aleene's Always Ready Original - Tacky Glue 118...
Content 118 Milliliter (€2.80 * / 100 Milliliter)
€3.30 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

JEJE 3D Foam 1mm
JEJE - 3D Foam
Content 400 Pieces
€0.60 *
1 mm
€0.60 *
2 mm
€0.83 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

Pentart - glass etching paste
Pentart - Glass Etching Paste
Content 50 Milliliter (€13.90 * / 100 Milliliter)
€6.95 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

Aleene's Always Ready Quick Dry - Tacky Glue 118 ml (4oz)
Aleene's Always Ready Quick Dry - Tacky Glue...
Content 118 Milliliter (€3.14 * / 100 Milliliter)
€3.70 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

Stamperia - Cream Paste
Stamperia - Cream Paste
Content 150 Milliliter (€4.63 * / 100 Milliliter)
€6.95 *

Currently out of stock

Tim Holtz - Sticker Book - Small Talk
Tim Holtz - Sticker Book - Small Talk
Content 6 Pages
€5.90 *

Currently out of stock

JEJE Foam Tape 2,0 mm
JEJE - Foam Tape
Content 1 Pieces
€0.90 *
2 mm
€0.90 *
1 mm
€0.85 *
0,5 mm
€0.85 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Green Brocade
Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Green Brocade
Content 20 Milliliter (€33.10 * / 100 Milliliter)
€6.62 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Rich Copper
Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Rich Copper
Content 20 Milliliter (€32.95 * / 100 Milliliter)
€6.59 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

Finnabair - Heavy Gesso black
Finnabair - Heavy Gesso black
Content 59 Milliliter (€4.36 * / 100 Milliliter)
€10.90 *
59 ml
€5.99 *
€10.15 * / 100 Milliliter
250 ml
€10.90 *
€4.36 * / 100 Milliliter

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

Finnabair - Dabbing Brush Set (3 brushes)
Finnabair - Dabbing Brush Set (3 brushes)
Content 3 Pieces
€8.90 *

Ready for immediate shipment, delivery time approx. 5-7 days*

1 13

Basics for mixed media projects

If you're new to mixed media, you've probably asked yourself what it takes to get started with mixed media. I would like to give you a short overview of our basics and make your start a little easier.

One of the basics you need for Mixed Media is in any case a canvas that you can design. Whether this canvas is a physical canvas, a base or paper or something else is entirely up to you. Our bases are backgrounds made of HDF (high density fibreboard) or MDF (medium density fibreboard). Here you can choose between different shapes and sizes. The practical thing about our bases is that you have a given size that you can work on. You can also find many different shapes of bases in our store which you can combine with each other.

To design these bases you have several possibilities. However, you always start with an underground. This background can be e.g. paper that you stick on the base or a resist canvas. Surely you ask yourself what a resist canvas is. Simply said it is a canvas fabric that absorbs the liquid like water or paint in certain places and repels it in other places. This way you get a beautiful surface for your project with the resist canvas alone. You can tear or cut it, just as you prefer. If you don't want all that, you also have the possibility to simply coat your base with Gesso.

Gesso is always used as a primer in mixed media. Gesso protects the paper and makes it less absorbent, but it also helps to keep your colours brilliant. Depending on your project and your mood you can choose between different colours. Transparent Gesso is the all-rounder among the Gesso varieties. In the mixed media area it is mainly used for layouts, because the pattern of the paper is not lost. White Gesso is actually always possible. It doesn't matter if it's used as a primer or to weaken colours that might be too bright for the project. The drybrush technique is very suitable for this. Drybrush technique means that you take up white gesso with a dry brush, wipe it off well, possibly dab it on a kitchen towel and then go over your project with only a little gesso. This way you can soften colors and give your project a very special look.

Structure and dimension for mixed media projects

Now that you have chosen a base and primed it, you naturally want some structure on your project. The easiest way to do this is with a stencil and a paste. A modeling paste (structure paste) is very suitable here. Modeling Paste is a solid paste that is firm enough when applied with a stencil not to run under the stencil pattern. But you also have the possibility to apply Modeling Paste with a palette knife and create your own structure. You can also use other pastes to color your project. Color pastes usually have a rougher structure, so that you can get great effects like rust effects (due to the grain) in addition to the color.

After everything has dried well, you might want to apply embellishments to your project. Embellishments are decorations with which you create dimension. To stick them on I recommend a Gel Medium. Since there are different gel media, I would like to explain the difference briefly. Soft Gel is best used for Art Journal Pages or for image transfer. Of all gel media it has the lowest adhesive strength and is the most liquid. You can easily spread it with a brush. 3D Gel has a thicker consistency and is suitable for heavier embellishments and is mostly used to glue flowers, borders or other decorations. The Heavy Body Gel is the strongest of all gel media. It has a jelly-like consistency and can be used to glue heavy embellishments such as large castings with casting compound, heavy metal parts etc. 3D Gel and Heavy Body Gel is best applied with a palette knife.

Colors and effects for mixed media projects

What is missing now is the colour. Here you have the agony of choice. Whether you use watercolours from Lindy's Stamp Gang or Fabrika Decoru or acrylic paints from Finnabair, Decoart or Fabrika Decoru is entirely up to you. I am sure we have something for every taste and every budget.

You can add special highlights with waxes. Just like colours, waxes are available in different versions. You can choose between matt waxes, waxes with a metal look, waxes with an antique look or waxes that have a different colour on black (dark) surfaces than on white (light) surfaces. In our shop we offer waxes from Finnabair and the company SeeArt.

Kostenloser Versand ab 75,- € Bestellwert innerhalb Deutschlands
liebevoll, persönlich verpackt
Service Hotline +49 (0) 176 - 345 019 06 (Mo-Do 9 - 17 Uhr und Fr 9 - 12 Uhr)

Basics

Filter schließen
 
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
1 von 12
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Fire Ruby
Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Fire Ruby
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Red Amber
Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Red Amber
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Amethyst Magic
Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Amethyst...
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Lucky Emerald
Finnabair - Antique Brilliance Wax - Lucky Emerald
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Brushed Iron
Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Brushed Iron
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Aged Brass
Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Aged Brass
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Bronze Age
Finnabair - Metallique Wax - Bronze Age
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Derzeit nicht lieferbar

Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Green Brocade
Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Green Brocade
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Blue Velvet
Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Blue Velvet
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Royal Robes
Finnabair - Opal Magic Wax - Royal Robes
Inhalt 20 Milliliter (32,95 € * / 100 Milliliter)
6,59 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Finnabair - Gesso transparent in der Dose
Finnabair - Gesso transparent
Inhalt 250 Milliliter (4,36 € * / 100 Milliliter)
10,90 € *
250 ml in der Dose
10,90 € *
4,36 € * / 100 Milliliter
250 ml in der Tube
10,90 € *
4,36 € * / 100 Milliliter

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

Aleene's Always Ready Original - Tacky Glue 118 ml (4oz)
Aleene's Always Ready Original - Tacky Glue 118...
Inhalt 118 Milliliter (2,79 € * / 100 Milliliter)
3,29 € *

Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit ca. 3-5 Tage*

1 von 12

Basics für Mixed Media Projekte

Wenn Du noch ganz neu im Bereich Mixed Media bist, hast Du Dich sicher schon einmal gefragt, was man überhaupt so braucht um mit Mixed Media anzufangen. Ich möchte Dir hier einen kleinen Überblick über unsere Basics geben und Dir so den Einstieg etwas erleichtern.

Zu den Basics die man für Mixed Media braucht gehört auf jeden Fall eine Leinwand, die man gestalten kann. Ob diese Leinwand nun eine physische Leinwand ist, ein Rohling oder Papier oder etwas anders, bleibt ganz Dir überlassen. Unsere Rohlinge sind Untergründe aus HDF (hochdichte Faserplatten) oder MDF (mitteldichte Faserplatten). Hier kannst Du zwischen unterschiedlichen Formen und Größen wählen. Das praktische an unseren Rohlingen ist, dass Du eine vorgegebene Größe hast, die Du bearbeiten kannst. Auch viele unterschiedliche Formen an Rohlingen findest Du bei uns im Shop die Du auch super miteinander kombinieren kannst. 

Um nun diese Rohlinge zu gestalten hast Du mehrere Möglichkeiten. Jedoch startest Du immer mit einem Untergrund. Dieser Untergrund kann z.B. Papier sein, dass Du auf den Rohling klebst oder auch ein Resist Canvas. Sicher fragst Du Dich nun, was ein Resist Canvas überhaupt ist. Einfach gesagt ist es ein Leinwandstoff, der an bestimmten Stellen die Flüssigkeit wie Wasser oder Farbe aufsaugt und sie an anderen Stellen abweist. So bekommst Du alleine schon durch das Resist Canvas einen schönen Untergrund für Dein Projekt. Du kannst es reißen oder schneiden, ganz so wie es Dir lieber ist. Wenn Du all das nicht möchtest, dann hast Du auch die Möglichkeit, Deinen Rohling ganz einfach mit Gesso zu bestreichen. 

Gesso wird im Mixed Media Bereich immer als Grundierung verwendet. Denn zum einen schützt Gesso das Papier und macht es weniger saugfähig zum anderen trägt Gesso auch dazu bei, dass Deine Farben ihre Brillanz nicht verlieren. Je nach Projekt und Lust und Laune kannst Du hier zwischen unterschiedlichen Farben wählen. Transparentes Gesso ist der Allrounder unter den Gesso Sorten. Im Mixed Media Bereich wird es aber überwiegend für Layouts verwendet, da so das Muster des Papiers nicht verloren geht. Weißes Gesso geht eigentlich immer. Egal ob als Grundierung oder um Farben abzuschwächen die eventuell zu krachig für das Projekt sind. Hierfür eignet sich die Drybrush Technik ganz hervorragend. Drybrush Technik bedeutet, dass Du mit einem trocknen Pinsel weißes Gesso aufnimmst, dieses wieder gut abstreifst, eventuell an einem Küchentuch abtupfst um dann mit nur ganz wenig Gesso über Dein Projekt gehst. So kannst Du Farben abschwächen und Deinem Projekt noch einen ganz besonderen Look geben. 

 

Struktur und Dimension für Mixed Media Projekte

Nachdem Du nun einen Rohling gewählt und diesen grundiert hast, willst Du natürlich auch etwas Struktur auf Deinem Projekt. Dies klappt am einfachsten mit einer Schablone und einer Paste. Super eignet sich hier eine Modeling Paste (Strukturpaste). Modeling Paste ist eine feste Paste, die beim Auftrag mit einer Schablone fest genug ist um nicht unter das Schablonenmuster zu laufen. Jedoch hast Du auch die Möglichkeit Modeling Paste mit einem Palettenmesser aufzutragen und so Deinen ganz eigene Struktur zu kreieren. Andere Pasten kannst Du auch dazu verwenden um Dein Projekt zu kolorieren. Farbpasten haben meist auch eine rauere Struktur, so dass Du neben der Farbe auch noch tolle Effekte wie beispielsweise Rosteffekte (durch die Körnung) bekommst. 

Nachdem alles gut getrocknet ist, möchtest Du sicher auch Embellishments auf Dein Projekt aufbringen. Embellishments sind Verzierungen mit denen Du Dimension erzeugst. Um diese festzukleben empfehle ich Dir ein Gel Medium. Da es unterschiedliche Gel Medien gibt, möchte ich Dir den Unterschied kurz erklären. Soft Gel verwendest Du am Besten bei Art Journal Pages oder für den Bildtransfer. Von allen Gel Medien hat es die geringste Klebekraft und ist am Flüssigsten. Du kannst es ganz einfach mit einem Pinsel verteilen. 3D Gel hat eine dickere Konsistenz und eignet sich für schwerere Embellishments und wird meistens verwendet um Blumen, Borten oder andere Dekorationen fest zu kleben. Das Heavy Body Gel ist das stärkste aller Gel Medien. Es hat eine Gelee artige Konsistenz und klebt sowohl schwere Verzierungen wie z.B. große Abformungen mit Gießmasse, schwere Metallteile etc. 3D Gel und Heavy Body Gel trägst Du am Besten mit einem Palettenmesser auf.

 

Farben und Effekte für Mixed Media Projekte

Was nun noch fehlt ist die Farbe. Hier hast Du die Qual der Wahl. Ob Du nun Aquarellfarben von Lindy’s Stamp Gang oder Fabrika Decoru verwendest oder Acrylfarben von Finnabair, Decoart oder Fabrika Decoru bleibt ganz Dir überlassen. Ich bin mir sicher, dass wir für jeden Geschmack und jeden Geldbeutel das Richtige haben. 

Besondere Highlights kannst Du mit Wachsen setzen. Wie auch Farben gibt es Wachse in unterschiedlichen Ausführungen. Du kannst wählen zwischen matten Wachsen, Wachsen mit Metall Optik, Wachsen mit antik Optik oder auch Wachsen, die auf schwarzen (dunklen) Untergründen einen andere Farbe haben als auf weißen (hellen) Untergründen. Wir bieten in unserem Shop Wachse von Finnabair und der Firma SeeArt an.